Alexis Sweeney
Alexis Sweeney
South Africa, 2021
My name is Lexi Sweeney, and I am so excited for this 5 month journey in Cape Town, South Africa! I will be a social work intern at School of Hope, a school for vulnerable youth where I will help facilitate group therapy, individual therapeutic sessions, and social/emotional educational sessions. Read More About Alexis →

Welcome to my House in Cape Town!

I officially made it to Cape Town, South Africa without any major hiccups in traveling, and I am so excited for this journey to begin! But man, was I overwhelmed the first day.

To be honest, I think I came into this a little ignorant when it comes to how I would adjust. I thought, because I had been to Cape Town before and did not experience any culture shock and was never overwhelmed when I studied abroad here, that it would be the same this time. However, that was not the case. The entire first day I was very overwhelmed and felt slightly uncomfortable, but I could not explain why. I love this city, I am truly excited to be here, and so far everything is going great- so why do I feel strange? Once I finally tuned into my feelings I realized I just needed time to adjust and get used to actually living in Cape Town. I don’t have a guide planning my days for me, my days are not filled with back to back tours and activities, I don’t have professors to help me process everything- I just have myself. Once I was able to recognize that and give myself grace with everything, I automatically felt better. I am so lucky to be here and I am thankful that this experience is so different from the last time I was in Cape Town because this time I am actually living here and this place will soon become my home.

My house!! So here are some pictures of my house:


I am sure you noticed the big fence/gate with wires on top, and while that might look strange to anyone from the States, it is the norm here. For safety reasons, everyone has a big gate like that one and then normally 2 doors to get right now it is me and 3 guys, and more should be here by the end of the month. My housemates have been extremely nice and

welcoming. They have showed me around the neighborhood inside the house. My house has 2 full bathrooms with showers, a great kitchen, and a fun common area/ living room. We also have a nice patio in the back along with a pool. My house holds 7 people, but right now it is me and 3 guys, and more should be here by the end of the month. My housemates have been extremely nice and welcoming. They have showed me around the neighborhood, chatted and played games with me, let me know all the “need to knows” about living in South Africa, and overall are just kind people.







My neighborhood is so fun and full of character!

Just a 2 minute walk from me is Lower Main where all of the shops, restaurants, book store, and more are at. There are a multitude of coffee shops on that street, and I may have already found my favorite- it’s called Dolce Bakery. They have gluten free items, as well as a breakfast special where you can get any tea/ coffee with any bagel and cream cheese for just R45, which is only 3USD!! So far, I have only tried two other restaurants, but I am hoping to try more soon!

Dolce Bakery


Right now I am still adjusting to life here and slowly doing more things. The first day I unpacked, ate dinner, and basically went straight to bed. In these last two days I have gone to the grocery store, got my SA SIM card to work (that took way longer than it was supposed to), hung out with my housemates, and explored the neighborhood a little. I don’t start my internship until the 25th so I am hoping to do some sight seeing and/or hiking this week, too! So far, I have had a lot of fun and am beginning to see how this place will become my home so soon.

As always, thanks for taking the time to read this, and you are welcome to comment on any thoughts or questions you have!


Love Always,

Lexi Sweeney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *